Thinkerfromiowa's Blog

Conversation about a variety of subjects

Reflections on the Election

Reflections on the Election

Hello, everyone.

Well, it is over. Obama won reelection, with a 130-vote margin in the Electoral College. I want to share some thoughts on the campaign and the election, but first, I believe a SMALL show of sympathy for the Republicans, who are in denial, is appropriate.

Gimme a BOO! Gimme a HOO! Gimme a BOO HOO HOO!!

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s begin the pontificating. Here are some random thoughts.

1. The better man won! I don’t mean the more capable or the better qualified. I mean the quality of person.

Barak Obama is by far the more likable person. Daily Kos had a diary online with a picture of Obama hugging an older lady who lost a marina due to Hurricane Sandy. After the second presidential debate at Hofstra College, there were reports that he stood around and shook hands and talked with members of the audience while Romney left the stage as fast as he could diplomatically. In short, Obama is the kind of person that people just like to be with. Along those same lines:

2. Smirk vs Smile. One of the most disgusting aspects of Romney’s campaign was his desire – almost desperation – to score political points concerning the events in Benghazi, Libya. The man was consumed by Benghazi. When he held his notorious news conference, there were pictures of him with a smirk on his face. I was so disgusted by his smirk that I wanted to buy a 12-gauge shotgun and blow both my TV and my computer monitor to kingdom come.

Obama, on the other hand, is quick with a smile, not a smirk. When he is happy and at ease, his white teeth almost radiate like the sun. I don’t know about you, but I would far rather spend time with a smiler than a smirker.

3. You can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear! This nugget of Iowa wisdom was never more apparent than it was in the campaign. Much derision on the part of the Republicans was directed at Obama and Chris Christie’s tour of storm damage in New Jersey. Indeed, that very trip, to say nothing of the admiration they expressed for each other, is absolutely remarkable. But it is not surprising when one is dealing with people who have lives outside of politics. Christie is governor of New Jersey, yes, but on this trip he was not a politician, but a leader seeking help for his badly battered state. Barak Obama was President of the United States, yes, but he was also one who had access to materiel that Christie needed. They were two men with a common cause – reducing as much as they could the pain that the residents of New Jersey were feeling because of the storm.

Contrast that to the Romney campaign. I followed the Romney campaign on the NBC and CBS evening news shows, and I do not recall any mention of Romney touring the devastated areas. Indeed, while Obama and Christie were doing their tour, Romney was on the road campaigning. This past Sunday (11/4), the Romney campaign held a function in Philadelphia. From accounts I have read, he virtually begged Christie to come. Christie could have gone – Trenton is less than 50 miles from Phillie – but he didn’t. Along the same lines, Romney could have asked Christie for a tour similar to the tour with Obama. Why didn’t he?

Paul Wellstone has the answer to that one:

“Never separate the life you live from the words you speak.” – Paul Wellstone

by isabelon Tue Nov 06, 2012 at 07:52:55 AM MST

Great words to live by. And thanks to Isabel and Daily Kos for the post.

Another Kos reader, ontheleftcoast, has a similar take:

Attention rich bastards, this is real important,

I thought you might want to know
That $5,000 suits don’t hide your 5¢ souls.

By ontheleftcoaston Tue Nov 06, 2012 at 09:27:55 AM MST

VERY well spoken! And that pretty well explains it. Barak Obama and Chris Christie displayed their $5,000 souls to the world through their tour, while Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan showed their 5¢ souls.

And while we are talking about the green stuff:

4. Money can’t buy me love. Let us turn to John Lennon and Paul McCartney for this one.

Can’t Buy Me Love Lyrics

Songwriters: LENNON, JOHN / MCCARTNEY, PAUL

Can’t buy me love, love
Can’t buy me love

I’ll buy you a diamond ring my friend if it makes you feel alright
I’ll get you anything my friend if it makes you feel alright
‘Cause I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love

I’ll give you all I got to give if you say you love me too
I may not have a lot to give but what I got I’ll give to you
I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love

Can’t buy me love, everybody tells me so
Can’t buy me love, no no no, no

Say you don’t need no diamond ring and I’ll be satisfied
Tell me that you want the kind of thing that money just can’t buy
I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love

WHY do I get this haunted feeling that Karl Rove, the Koch brothers, and all the other fat cats who sank money into buying Mitt Romney the presidency have this song rocketing off their Ipods or spinning on their turntables? If they didn’t knows it before, they surely know by now that money cannot buy love, happiness, or a Presidency of the United States. One time on the CBS Evening News, I heard a statement that both sides had dropped over a billion dollars on the presidential campaign. And all that Rove, the Kochs, and the rest got in return was a ton of grief. Maybe, now that they did not get the result that they wanted, the conservatives will get the idea that maybe Citizens United was not such a great idea after all. Those of us with functioning brains already knew that for a fact.

So if MONEY doesn’t get the job done, then what about

5. Is there merit to prayer? Yes and No!

On the Village Voice Blogs website, there is a blog titled “Rightbloggers Anticipate Romney Landslide, Denounce Nate Silver, Katy Perry.” the blog was written by Roy Edroso and posted on Sun., Nov. 4 2012 at 9:28 PM. In his blog, Roy quotes another blog called Maggie’s Notebook. Here is the pertinent passage: “…We’re still looking for the transcript of that Romney speech, but if that doesn’t accomplish victory, Maggie’s Notebook assured us, there was always “the combined prayers of millions of God’s people imploring their God to intervene and help them save their country. Combine the prayers of millions of Catholics to those of the Evangelicals and miracles WILL HAPPEN.” Throw in unstinting use of bold and italic type, and they can’t lose.”

HAHAHAHAHA!! I LOVE IT!! “Throw in unstinting use of bold and italic type, and they can’t lose.” Trouble is, all of the bold and italic type could not get Mittens to 270 electoral votes. Neither could all of the Evangelical and Catholic prayers. But wait a minute. Given all that God has to deal with involving this world and all of its inhabitants, to say nothing of ALL the worlds in this universe and all the inhabitant that may – or may not – live on THEM, does ANYBODY really believe that God gives a tinker’s damn about who sits in the Oval Office? The God I worship has FAR more important matters to tend to.

But given how susceptible Republicans are to name-dropping God’s name, it was inevitable that nonsensical stupidity like what Maggie put in her notebook should show up in the campaign. That is why I am doing a Mitt Romney in terms of answering the question about the supposed merit in prayer. If you prayed for Mittens to win, and he didn’t, then prayer has no merit. BUT: If you prayed for Mittens to lose, and he did, then there is tons of merit in prayer.

And I am not even going to bring up that ignorant Israel bullhockey!

6. OK, children, play nice.

I have followed the election on Daily Kos, my favorite blog. From the get-go on early voting, a day has not gone by without there being a story somewhere about Republican interference with the early voting procedures, whether it be Rick Scott in Florida trying to end early voting before it started, the Republican Ohio Secretary of State trying to change the rules in the middle of the game, Rick Scott trying to purge duly eligible Blacks from Florida’s voting rolls, Conservative companies posting billboards trying to discourage Blacks and Latinos from voting, or whatever.

One thing that I found remarkable about this whole business was how one-sided it was. Everything that I could find was of Republicans trying to kill Democratic votes. I never found anything going the other way. If there were Democrats trying to kill Republican votes, I never found any evidence of it. Nor did I ever find any evidence of Democrats ever trying to intimidate Republicans from voting. So apparently this never happened.

In my book, it really says something about the strength of your argument if you feel forced to use dirty tricks and intimidation to try to win an election. Thank God you lost!!

7. “We are all in this together” vs.”Fuck you!”

I tried to watch the Republican convention. “Tried” is the operative word here, because watching the Republican nominating convention was like watching a giant sequoia tree growing from a seed.

The Democratic nominating convention was a totally different story. I tuned in the first night and I was hooked. One remarkable thing that I observed was that there was one idea that seemed to take possession of that convention. Each speaker used one six-word phrase or a variant of it: “We are all in this together” or “We’re all in this thing together.”

Forty years ago, I was privileged to know and be friends with an absolutely outstanding pastor in my home town, Rev. Albert Crawley. Rev. Crawley was in his seventies; yet he was very highly involved with the youth in his church. When someone asked him why he went to all of the high-school football and basketball games, he said, “There is a good chance that one of my church kids is on that team, and I want my kid to know that someone is in the stands, yelling and cheering for him.” What a thoroughly wise man!!

We all have incidents in our lives when we need to know that someone is on our side and pulling for us to succeed. And that is EXACTLY what the Democrats were saying to this country. “We are all in this thing together. We’ve got your back. If anything bad happens to you, we will do what we can to make the load a little more bearable for you.”

And nowhere was this displayed any better than it was with the tour that President Barak Obama and Governor Chris Christie – a Republican – made of storm-ravaged New Jersey. On Daily Kos, in a diary that discussed the trip, there was a picture of Obama embracing an elderly lady who owned a marina that had been destroyed. Back in the 90s, Conservatives made nasty jokes about Bill Clinton and “Bill feels your pain.” Yes he did, because he started a foundation to help worldwide causes that need support. He did, and does, feel our pain. And so does Obama. Nothing could restore that poor lady’s marina, but I am sure that knowing that her president was aware that “we are all in this together” did ease the pain some. Certainly, knowing that he cared had to be a great help.

In contrast, Mitt Romney could not have said “Fuck You!” any clearer than he did in his infamous video where he tossed 47% of the American population under the bus by calling us “moochers” and saying that it was not his job to worry about us. He also complained about not being able to “get us to take responsibility” for our lives. I’m sorry, Mittens, but I am 70 years old and my elderly mother is 90, and we are NOT moochers, and we do NOT need any lectures about taking responsibility for our lives. I couldn’t help but ponder his remarks in the light of hurricane Sandy. Would he have called those who lost property “moochers” if they had asked for help in rebuilding their homes and their lives? What about those who had lost friends and family members? Would he have lectured them about taking responsibility for their lives and getting over the grief over their losses? I am afraid that the answers to both questions would have been a resounding “YES!”

But all of this is moot. Romney lost the election by 130 electoral votes. We re-elected a president who has a heart as well as a brain and who gets it that we are all in this thing together. We have been blessed with four more years. And we can rest assured that regardless of whether we are marina owners or ordinary Joe Blows, we have a government and a president who has our backs.

God bless you, Mr. President. And as Tiny Tim would put it, God bless us every one.

So concludes this diary. Everyone have a great day today.

Bill

 

November 9, 2012 - Posted by | Miscellaneous, Politics | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

